Recipe: Spicy Beer Mustard

11 Aug

Many thanks to everyone who has contacted me asking for additional information about canning as well as recipes.  I’m very flattered.  Here is the first recipe of what I hope will be many.

Unless you start contracting botulism.

Spicy Beer Mustard


  • 1 12oz bottle of beer; darker stouts will have a more pronounced flavor than lighter beers.  I favor brown ales for mustard making
  • 1/2 cup brown mustard seeds
  • 1/2 cup yellow mustard seeds
  • 1/2 cup mustard powder; my favorite is Colman’s
  • 1 tbsp onion powder; I hate to use vegetable powders, but I just cannot make a real onion work in mustard
  • 1 tbsp sea or Kosher salt
  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp prepared horseradish
  • 3 garlic cloves; minced


  1. Pour beer and mustard seeds into a non-reactive pot and set aside for an hour or so, to let the seeds absorb some of the beer.
  2. Mix mustard powder, onion powder and salt in a small bowl, taking care to break up any lumps in the mustard.  Set aside.
  3. Using an immersion blender or food processor, blend the seeds and beer to desired consistency.  I like my mustard rather grainy and recommend blending no more than half.  Whisk in mustard powder mixture, vinegar, horseradish and garlic and cook over medium heat until just barely boiling; whisking often.  Turn down heat to low and simmer for 10 minutes.  Remove from heat and that’s it!  YOU HAVE MADE MUSTARD.  Yield: approximately 2.5 – 3 cups.

At this point, you have two options for storage: canning or not canning.

Not Canning:

  • Pour your mustard into desired container(s) and keep in the refrigerator for months.  If you are using a glass jar, let the mustard cool prior to transferring.  Sudden temperature changes can cause glass to crack or explode.


  • Ladle hot mustard into prepared jars with adequate head space.  Wipe rims clean, affix lids and screw bands.  Water bath process for 10 minutes, let jars cool 12-24 hours before checking the seal.  Store any jars that did not seal in the refrigerator.


  • Wait a day or two before consuming; gives the flavors a better chance to develop.
  • Play with the recipe!  Use different beers and change the amount of horseradish and garlic to your liking.
  • Please let me know if you make this; I would love to hear about your results and any changes!


Posted by on 11 August 2011 in Canning, Mustard, Photographs, Recipes


Tags: , , ,

32 responses to “Recipe: Spicy Beer Mustard

  1. J (@RedHeadedWriter)

    11 August 2011 at 17:06


    • Smedette

      11 August 2011 at 17:06

      Get ye some fresh soft pretzels.

  2. frugalfeeding

    11 August 2011 at 17:06

    Sounds awesome!

    • Smedette

      11 August 2011 at 17:08

      Thank you! I’m really pleased with this recipe.

      • frugalfeeding

        11 August 2011 at 17:56

        I’m a bit fussy about mustard but I reckon I’d really like this one! You should be pleased!

  3. amykefauver

    12 August 2011 at 06:40

    I bet it is as tasty as it is pretty! Cannot wait to try this! Thanks for posting. — Amy

    • Smedette

      12 August 2011 at 15:53

      If you do make it, please let me know what you think. I’d love to hear about any changes you made to suit your taste.

  4. Tracy Rhodes

    15 August 2011 at 02:14

    This mustard turned out so great! I made half the recipe but kept pretty much everything the same proportionately, and it’s delicious. It’ll be just the ticket to go with sausages and the homemade sauerkraut my husband’s had brining for a few weeks. Thanks for posting!

    • Smedette

      15 August 2011 at 06:50

      Aw, Tracy – that made my day! Thank you so much and yes, I think it will be perfect with sausages and sauerkraut. Enjoy!

  5. Skye Desfosses

    24 August 2011 at 19:36

    I ask all my friends to visit this blog…. and I hope they will definitely like..

  6. shaista

    25 August 2011 at 08:18

    Thanks for sharing.I was looking for this.

  7. Karak Destra

    12 November 2011 at 09:34

    Just put your recipe on my hubby’s FB wall. He’s gonna love it!

  8. Karen in Calif

    2 December 2011 at 15:14

    Curious about cooking the mixture: other sites claim cooking mustard is a bad thing. Comments?

    • Smedette

      3 December 2011 at 01:32

      I haven’t heard of that – something to look into! I cook mustard when I’m using horseradish and garlic. I think it helps meld the flavors and takes some of the raw edge off.

      Cooking is not a requirement, so if you have any hesitation, feel free to skip it.

      • Karen in Calif

        3 December 2011 at 13:41

        Thanks, I’ve been wondering about adding raw garlic, etc. from a food safety/shelf life standpoint…

  9. Karen in Calif

    2 December 2011 at 15:21

    Am I just not seeing a utility to print this recipe?

    • Smedette

      3 December 2011 at 01:32

      Nope! I don’t have one, but great suggestion.

      • Karen in Calif

        3 December 2011 at 13:40

        Wish you did – I tried to select & print the recipe but can only get it with 2+ pages of comments… bummer

        • Smedette

          3 December 2011 at 23:37

          Thanks, Karen. Though this isn’t a food blog, it gives me something to think about.

  10. Rita Floor

    25 April 2012 at 14:58

    I’ve made this recipe about 6 times now using different types of beer and it never disappoints! I just made some with a locally brewed Heffy and added fresh tarragon and some celery salt. The second batch is done with an India Pale Ale from the same brewery and I added a tablespoon of special blend curry powder and two heads of roasted garlic. They both smell amazing. I’ve given a bunch away and they are always well received. Thanks for the fantastic recipe!

    • Smedette

      25 April 2012 at 15:06

      The curry powder and roasted garlic sound like excellent additions! Thank you so much for letting me know. I’m glad you are enjoying making your own mustard!

      • Rita

        28 August 2012 at 14:16

        Did a batch today made from a Pumpkin Ale. Added a French spice mix that includes, cinnamon, white pepper, ginger and cloves. Added a bit more white wine vinegar as well. Smells wonderful!

        • Smedette

          28 August 2012 at 14:16

          That sounds like a FANTASTIC combination.

  11. Amber Roth DeGrace

    9 May 2012 at 08:28

    “Unless you start contracting botulism.”

    HAHA! That convinced me to subscribe to your blog.

    Thank you again for the link to this recipe.

    • Smedette

      9 May 2012 at 08:32

      Excellent! Hope you like the recipe. I usually let it sit in the fridge for a few days before eating.

  12. Meganne Chiles

    4 November 2013 at 22:52

    I’m making these for Christmas gifts. Did my first batch yesterday with Stone Smoked Porter and canned them. It’s soooo good! But, I was wondering how good they will be once canned? My cans sealed so that’s good but I don’t want people to get sick if I give them for Christmas!

    • Smedette

      5 November 2013 at 18:32

      Hi – I’m so glad you like it! A general rule for home canned goods is to use within a year from the date they were processed. Everything should be just fine for Christmas.

  13. hannah

    26 February 2014 at 01:48

    I figured out how to use an onion in here. I caramelized an onion with a splash of beer (I used Paulaner’s hefeweizen) and it’s DELICIOUS.

  14. allthenamesaretakensothisisreallyreallylong

    26 March 2014 at 13:07

    I will be trying this recipe this weekend. I am very excited.


Let me have it.

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

