Put This on Everything

02 Apr

Sorry I’ve been half-assing the blog of late.  The pollen has been all-consuming here in Charlotte, as well as other pockets of the US.  It’s been miserable and between the allergies and the allergy medications, I’m barely functioning as a zombie.

However, spending this much time indoors allows me fool around in the kitchen.

Ginger Syrup

  • 2 cups finely chopped fresh ginger; no need to peel.  Just wash and chop.
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 6 cups water
  1. Put everything in a pot and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and let simmer until a thick syrup forms (not quite the consistency of maple syrup); 50-60 minutes.
  2. Pour through a fine mesh sieve, discard solids.  Keep in the fridge.

Drizzle this over everything; fresh, baked or braised fruit.  It adds an awesome spicy kick to muffins, waffles and pancakes.  Add to your granola and yogurt.  Over ice cream and be sure to include a bit on your cheese plate.  Or my personal favorite: mix with vodka and serve over ice.


Posted by on 2 April 2012 in Cooking, Photographs, Recipes


Tags: , , , ,

12 responses to “Put This on Everything

  1. ohkeeka

    2 April 2012 at 16:14

    This is my first spring in NC and the pollen is insaaaane. We’re not allergic, but our cat Mochi is (apparently). It ends soon, right?!

    I love anything involving ginger, so naturally I would love to drown everything I eat in ginger syrup. I’m gonna have to make this…

    • Smedette

      2 April 2012 at 16:19

      Poor kitty! The pollen levels thus far have been OUT OF CONTROL.

      I’m a big fan of ginger, too. I bet you could make some “ginger ale” with this by mixing it with club soda.

  2. Joshua

    2 April 2012 at 19:49

    Vodka and ice, now you’re talking!!!

    • Smedette

      3 April 2012 at 07:29

      Yes! Muddle some lemon or lime in a cocktail shaker, add ice, ginger syrup and vodka. Shake and strain.

  3. Kim of Mo'Betta

    2 April 2012 at 20:35

    Yep, I’m in NC too, and the pollen is insane. I’ve never prayed so much for rain! I was going to make ginger ale soon, I’ll have to try it with this ginger syrup! Or ginger beer….yum!

    • Smedette

      3 April 2012 at 07:31

      Hi Kim – We didn’t even have much of a winter did we? These last few months have been wacky. The Charlotte area is now covered in bugs and pollen, but at least we will have strawberries soon.

      Thanks for stopping by.

  4. promenadeplantings

    12 April 2012 at 11:13

    I hop ethe allergies are clearing up – I had a bad day or two here in the alps a few weeks back, I was a sneezing wreck I put it down to tree pollen – bleurgh!

    • Smedette

      12 April 2012 at 11:41

      Thank you! They are getting better, but come and go. Spring weather can be so unpredictable.

  5. Stef

    21 May 2012 at 18:09

    Can this be hot water canned, or does it need to be pressure canned (say, if I had an embarrassing riches of ginger and wanted to put this in pretty little jars to give out at Yule)?

    • Smedette

      22 May 2012 at 07:41

      I’m almost positive it could be water-bath canned because of the amount of sugar. Let me research a bit and get back to you!

      • Kendra

        1 September 2013 at 14:58

        Did you ever find this out? I’d love to can some as well!


Let me have it.

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

