Life List #109: Try 1,000 Different Fruits

15 Apr

Realizing I had not accomplished or attempted anything from my Life List in quite some time, I took a look at it.  And then at lists belonging to other people.  And promptly stole an item from Maggie, the woman that started all of this Life List business.  Let’s begin.

#1: Mini Blood Orange

I’m a huge fan of citrus and will shove it down my gullet at any given chance.  I spotted these mini blood oranges and could not say no.  I may have eat one in my car before leaving the parking lot.

They have a perfect sweet/tart balance and contain a surprising amount of juice for being so tiny.  I’m already picturing curds and marmalade.

#2: Honey Tangerine

Perfectly named.  This delightful fruit tastes as if it has been sweetened by honey.  Will be going back to the market soon to buy a crate and run through my juicer.

Two down, 998 to go.

What have you recently crossed off your Life List?



Posted by on 15 April 2012 in Food, Life List


Tags: , ,

16 responses to “Life List #109: Try 1,000 Different Fruits

  1. John

    15 April 2012 at 20:36

    I still remember the first time I tried a blood orange . . . if I hadn’t been told about the name of the fruit, it wouldn’t be that big a thing, but “blood orange” and red, juicy fruit . . . yeah, it didn’t work for me. And it probably ruined black pudding/blood sausage (though, to be honest, that was pretty nasty to begin with). I’m past that now . . . and I lament the years of avoiding blood oranges just because.

    One of my favorite “I don’t know why I don’t eat this more often” fruits is starfruit. Maybe it’s the cost.

    • Smedette

      16 April 2012 at 07:41

      Yes, starfruit is going to make an appearance on the list as are other familiar fruits.

      The name can be off-putting, but I do prefer blood oranges to a standard orange. Not sure why.

      • John

        16 April 2012 at 13:34

        Oh, the taste is far superior — sweeter, it feels fuller as you eat it.

  2. biscuitsandbobbins

    15 April 2012 at 21:47

    I haven’t crossed anything off lately, but I did read all about loquats today, I’d never heard of them, and now I think I have to have one! Plus, they are in season right now…

    • Smedette

      16 April 2012 at 07:39

      Loquats! I’ve only read about them, have yet to taste one.

  3. J (@RedHeadedWriter)

    16 April 2012 at 12:15

    I bought a beet yesterday. I am going to attempt to roast it. I don’t think I like beets – but I’m willing to try.

    • Smedette

      16 April 2012 at 12:21

      The Husband adores beets, so I plant them in the garden. I, however, think they taste like dirt no matter how they are prepared. Good luck with your beet adventure; may your taste buds be happier than mine.

  4. zsuzsi aa (@zsuzsisplay)

    16 April 2012 at 13:05

    Yay, this is something I want to try! And oooh, the strawberry season, we still have to wait until the end of June – how unfair isn’t that??

    • Smedette

      16 April 2012 at 13:10

      Try it! I think this is going to be a fun item on my List.

      Strawberries usually come around this time of year (mid April) in the Southern US, but the season started almost three weeks ago – very early!

  5. The Type A Housewife (@ohkeeka)

    16 April 2012 at 19:14

    I had no idea mini blood oranges were a thing! I love anything in mini form. We went to Grand Asia Market in Cary last weekend and I was looking for exotic fruit that I could blog about, but sadly they had nothing I hadn’t already tried.

    • Smedette

      16 April 2012 at 19:17

      I’ve definitely been on a mini-food kick…more photos to come.

      I had no idea there was a market like that in Cary!

  6. Kimwithak

    17 April 2012 at 11:02

    This made me take a look back at my Life Project list. Guess what? I’ve at least accomplished one–volunteer at an organization for animals. Hell, I’m a damn unpaid staff member at one now. Done and done.

  7. Kimwithak

    17 April 2012 at 11:05

    Actually, I just looked and there were an additional 3 accomplishments. I’ll be damned.

    • Smedette

      17 April 2012 at 13:12

      Hot damn – you’re on a roll!

  8. inherchucks

    19 April 2012 at 04:18

    Love this challenge! Looking forward to seeing what you receive in your box this week…come link up when you’re ready :)


Let me have it.

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

