8 May

02 May

8 May is Primary Day in North Carolina.

We will be voting on whether we want to keep a racist homophobic crazy person in office and if we want to elevate a moron to the federal level.

There is also something of great importance on the ballot:  Amendment One.

Gay marriage is already illegal in North Carolina, but this would define marriage as only between one man and one woman and adding said definition to the State Constitution.

Other than this Amendment being complete and utter crap, it is so poorly written with vague language that it could legally jeopardize the relationship status of unmarried heterosexual couples and homosexual couples with civil unions.  It is unnecessary and blatantly discriminatory and I was so pleased to read this New York Times editorial that ripped it to shreds and this fantastic column by a local journalist.

(Note: if you want to lose all faith in humanity, read the comments following Tommy’s column.  Then pour yourself and drink or two and let me know when you come out of the fetal position).

As you may imagine, the rhetoric regarding this vote has been vile and abusive.  But, this is the South.  Religion and politics mix freely; politicians openly discuss how their God is better than your God and clergy tell their congregations how to vote.

That brings me to Pastor Sean Harris of Berean Baptist Church.  This past Sunday (29 April), Pastor Harris gave a sermon advocating fathers to punch their sons should they display any behavior that could be interpreted as effeminate.  He also said to “reign in” girls that were “acting butch” by reminding them how to be girls: look pretty and smell nice.

All of this in the name of God.


Tags: , , , , , ,

16 responses to “8 May

  1. injaynesworld

    2 May 2012 at 14:05

    I haven’t been following this nearly enough. Excellent post. I’m off to share.

    • Smedette

      2 May 2012 at 14:08

      It’s been so very terrible. I fear it will pass, but North Carolina has surprised me before.

      As for the Pastor…there are no words to describe the rage.

  2. Kimwithak

    2 May 2012 at 14:06

    If God exists, s/he will have a mouthful for these people when they knock on the pearly gates. That much is for sure. I’m also interested to see the fallout from the Sean Harris thing mostly because I think the media will be easier on him than they were on Tracy Morgan for saying the same thing in a joke. Not that I condone either one, but it’ll be another piece of proof that black people are treated differently than white people.

    • Smedette

      2 May 2012 at 14:10

      He issued a retraction (sort of) on the Church’s website. He said what he said was receiving more attention than usual (which makes me wonder, has he said these things before?) because of the Amendment One vote.

      The hate people openly display is just so damn depressing and disheartening.

  3. John

    2 May 2012 at 14:50

    That kind of talk is enough to make me sick.

    What I want to know is if people who spew such hatred actually believe they have their God’s backing . . . or if they know it’s all bullshit.

    Of those two choices, I don’t know which is scarier.

    • Smedette

      2 May 2012 at 14:55

      The over-zealous religious folks seem to enjoy ranting and raving about damnation and hellfire; never mentioning the benevolent parts of Christianity. It would do them some good to remember Matthew 7:12.

  4. J (@RedHeadedWriter)

    2 May 2012 at 17:17

    This is why organized religion will never again be a part of my life – sure, the thought behind it is beautiful, but so many of its leaders are greedy morons who think their dicks are 8 times bigger than they’ll ever be. And since those leaders rule religion, you can count me out.

    • Smedette

      2 May 2012 at 17:40

      I remember as a small child I always thought “I’m spiritual, but not religious” was the dumbest thing I had ever heard.

      Now, I totally get it.

  5. theaxepdx

    3 May 2012 at 00:16

    does he happen to work for the mls? i hear they have a new program promoting gender awareness. i think it is called: stop wearing kits and learn how to knit…

    as always, a treat to read your random musings.

  6. Symdaddy

    3 May 2012 at 03:08

    America wouldn’t be America without it’s nut cases!

    And God is always used as the ‘big excuse’ when bigots go to war.

    • Smedette

      3 May 2012 at 09:04

      The things people will do in the name of religion.

      And, I’m pretty sure we own the market on nut cases. Or maybe it’s just our crazies make more noise?

  7. promenadeplantings

    3 May 2012 at 04:32

    I’m speechless and I haven’t even clicked on your links, it’s 9.30 in the morning and I don’t think I have a strong enough constitution to deal with reading it! actually I’m speechless and wanting to weep.

    • Smedette

      3 May 2012 at 09:03

      It’s shocking. There is a local politician than is clearly racists against black people, but his district keeps re-electing him. I just don’t understand it.

      As for the Pastor…there are no works. Advocating punching a child for any reason is barbaric.

  8. biscuitsandbobbins

    4 May 2012 at 11:29

    I wish i lived there to give voice that is completely unacceptable with voting. Then again, I live in Georgia so, yeah, my vote is needed here…

  9. Duffy

    4 May 2012 at 13:17

    Never read the comments!


Let me have it.

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

